Amateur Mixology #1 – Thai Basil & Blueberry Spiked Lemonade

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Part of the reason I decided to revive this blog is because I’ve started to dabble in the art of “mixology.” That sounds ridiculous but I love it, and there’s actually been quite a few reasons why I’ve decided to start doing this. My roommates and I are growing a lot of plants on our balcony so I’ve been trying to experiment with all our newfound mint, basil, rosemary, etc. We also receive a weekly Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) box from a local farm here in Gainesville and we’ve found ourselves with a lot of food we don’t know what to do with (if we’ve heard of the food at all – ie: persimmons…a lot of persimmons). On top of all that, we have also hoarded a ridiculous amount of liquor in our apartment. None of us are huge drinkers (especially if we’re not out at dinner) so we’ve needed a reason to finish up a few bottles. With all that said, I’m definitely just getting started with all of this. For the most part, I find a base recipe off of Pinterest and adjust it to taste and based on what ingredients we happen to have at our apartment. So far, I’ve only made one drink without any base recipe. It went alright, but as of now, and especially with my blog posts, I’m gonna stick with things I know will end up tasting good. By the way, side note but to spare me any judgement: I haven’t yet determined the most aesthetically pleasing way of taking pictures for this sort of thing so excuse the images until I sort all that out. I am embarrassing. And yes, we have a lot of wine and hot chocolate k-pods. Okay! On to the recipe! here is the base recipe I used – I actually had the full intention of following this recipe exactly but we did not have limes or sparkling water so I switched those out for lemon juice and sparkling lemonade! ended up very lemon-y (hence the “spiked lemonade”) IMG_7266 …also may have used frozen blueberries. Oops. Anyway, because this isn’t my recipe and I changed so little, I won’t go into detail about the process/take credit for the process. It’s exactly the same as the recipe. IMG_7268 IMG_7267 IMG_7269 Not the most exciting drink in the world but it tasted great (and I needed to not make a margarita for once). I’m in the process of finalizing a recipe for a drink I’ve really been interested in making so if it turns out alright then you’ll be seein’ that one next! Okay and I’m really, really bad at ending these. I don’t know what to say. Abrupt ending. -Amanda

Leave a Reply

