Amanda’s October Favorites

IMG_1689

Don’t have that much this month but I definitely really love these things…

Acure Organics 100% Certified Organic Argan Oil: I know I just finished raving about the Josie Maran Argan Oil last month but this stuff is giving it a run for its money, literally: because I feel that I get the exact same results for a fraction of the price. This bottle is $13! For 1 oz! Josie Maran is $16 for 0.5 oz! (But this isn’t to say that the Josie Maran Argan Oil isn’t still one of my favorite things ever, this is just more college-budget-friendly). This stuff doesn’t smell as nice as the Josie Maran oil but that’s pretty easily ignored. I really attribute my lack of any skin problems at all to my newfound love for argan oil. Seriously life changing.

Bite Beauty BB for Lips: My roommate Lauren swore by this when I told her I wanted something dark-ish but still sheer and moisturizing to wear whenever I wasn’t wearing my normal lipsticks. I feel most comfortable wearing really dark lips but I feel like they’re too high maintenance to wear sometimes (ie: to class). This builds up just enough for me to feel like my normal self, but is still sheer enough to not feel like I need to run to the bathroom and check my face every other minute. I freakin’ love this stuff and I can’t wait to buy more colors.

iPad: There was a time when I thought about selling my iPad. I never used it after I got a new computer and just saw no reason to keep it. But now, I’m a changed woman. I’ve read countless books on it, I take it to class (weighs less than my laptop!) and, most excitingly, I’m trying to learn to draw on it! It’s a process but it has been fun so far.

Stainless Steel Straws: These have been very well loved our apartment. We’ve been wanting a good set of non-plastic straws for a while and, for this price, we had to try these out. I personally love them and refuse to go back to any of the other straws. My two favorite things about them: 1. we aren’t wasting so much plastic and 2. the straws get really cold if you’re drinking something cold. I like that.

Mirrored Sunglasses: I wanted these sunglasses from Ray-Ban so badly…but I knew deep down that I could not bring myself to spend $200 on a pair of sunglasses that are not something I could see myself wearing more often than my standard tortoise/black Ray-Bans. When I saw this pair on Zero UV for $10, I immediately ordered them and I’ve worn them pretty much nonstop since. The only downside is that I do have very sensitive eyes and I don’t find that I feel my eyes are as protected as I’d like, but it’s whatever if I’m only going to be out for a little while. I’m just happy I saved all dat $.

Favorite band of the month- Foxing: I had never really listened to Foxing before I saw them open for Brand New in Miami. I was absolutely blown away by their performance – and so was everyone else. I even heard someone standing near me say that they weren’t sure how anyone could follow a band that good. It was truly incredible. Since then (it’s been a week lol), I’ve been obsessed. Also, I absolutely love when bands occasionally use trumpets, I just love it, so Foxing + me = match made in heaven. Check them out here:

Favorite film of the month – A Man Escaped (1956, Robert Bresson): As is typical for me, I had to watch this movie for a class a few weeks ago. I cannot believe that, in all these years and all my film classes, I had never even heard of this film before I saw it. This is one of those movies where, if you’ve seen it, you love it. It’s a masterpiece – and I don’t say that all too lightly. The film tells the story of a man who was part of the French Resistance who is being held in a prison and his plans to escape. The entire film is told rather slowly but it doesn’t even feel torturous in the slightest. There were multiple moments in the film when I was holding my breath because my anxiety levels were through the roof. I’m not sure what else to say without giving away too much, just watch this if you get the chance.

And, last but not least, my favorite book of the month: I kind of don’t have one. The only book I actually finished was Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham. I loved it, don’t get me wrong, I just feel it is a little unfair to automatically make it my favorite book if I didn’t even finish anything else. I guess I’ll compensate by saying the other books I’m reading are Between Existentialism and Marxism by Jean-Paul Satre (very interesting but a little draining – hence, I have not finished it) and The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling – I just started this one after I finished Lena’s book and I’ve gotten through a pretty decent chunk of it, pretty good so far).

And that’s that! End of October. October was great. It was crazy, school-wise, but still great. I got to see my favorite band and see a lot of friends who I haven’t seen in ages. Oh! And I turned 22. That’s a weird thing.

Let us know what you’ve been loving (especially books!)!

Leave a Reply

