Amateur Mixology #3 – Rosemary Gin Rickey

I had this freakin’ tasty drink at one of my favorite restaurants in Gainesville last week and decided I’d try to recreate it.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

This drink is really, really simple and is more refreshing than anything else.

Here’s what you’ll need:

IMG_7425

2 springs of Rosemary
Juice from 1/2 Lemon
1-2 oz of Simple Syrup
2 oz Gin
Club soda

All ya have to do is combine all the ingredients! I personally decided to create my own rosemary simple syrup to add more rosemary flavor. It’s really simple if you’re willing to take an extra bit of time.

Rosemary Simple Syrup:
Equal parts water and sugar and a few sprigs of Rosemary. Boil all of these in a pot and then turn off the burner and allow everything to cool down for about 30 minutes. If you have extra, you can keep the syrup for a few weeks without it going bad. Personally, I like to just make enough for whatever drink I’m making so that I don’t have a fridge full of simple syrup.

IMG_7426

Let me know if you make this drink! I think I’m going to remake it soon with lime instead of lemon (because I think that’s how they did it at the restaurant). I’ll let you guys know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

