Amateur Mixology #5 – Frozen Basil Gimlet

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAs usual, this drink is super duper simple and is perfect is you’re a gin lover like me!

IMG_7498

This drink calls for only a few ingredients:
2 oz of Gin
1 oz of Basil Simple Syrup
1 Lime
A ton of ice

(I made my own basil simple syrup – all you have to do is put equal parts water and sugar into a pot with a few basil leaves and let it boil until the sugar is “gone,” this doesn’t take very long. Afterward, let the mixture cool down for about 20 minutes before moving on to the next step.)

IMG_7499

Once the syrup cooled, I decided the best way to go about making this drink would be to combine the simple syrup, the gin and the juice from one lime into the blender with a ton of ice and then blend it until the ice reached the consistency I wanted. I aimed for pieces of ice just slightly bigger than Slushie consistency but you could blend more or less (or not blend the ice at all).

I also decided to go back in and blend some extra ice (ice alone – no Gin, lime juice, etc) and add that on top. This is optional of course, I just wanted more ice.

Obviously, all of this can be adjusted to taste. I also made one of these for my roommate and added slightly more lime juice for her and it tasted great. Just a matter of preference!

I’m definitely looking forward to trying out a few more drinks with Gin. It is 100% my favorite and I’d love some suggestions if you have any!

Leave a Reply

