Vanessa’s November Favorites

IMG_1700I may have raved last month, but I truly believe that I am more attached to my favorites this month than I was attached to my favorites last month.

I think this has something to do with the fact that I went as a guest to Sephora’s VIB Rouge event. The amount of people there, the name tags, and the refreshments all culminated into a giddiness and an excitement that led me to splurge.

I bought Benefit’s Cheeky Sweet Spot Box o’ Blushes. After last month’s Tarte blush obsession, I decided blush is something I’ve been overlooking. So what was I supposed to do when this cute holiday set was staring at me as I was trying to mind my own business at Sephora? Now I have dandelion, sugarbomb, CORALista, bella bamba, rockateur, and hoola.  It’s an amazing value ($119) for only $36. If you’re thinking of gift ideas, you should definitely look into this one!

I did not intend to buy a perfume at the event, but alas, I bought a new perfume! The past four years I’ve been rocking the same scent (Burberry’s London), but I wanted a new signature scent–one that was more sweet and for the daytime. I fell in love with Clean Skin. It’s described as “hints of dewy flower petals wrap[ped] around notes of pure creaminess and warm musk to evoke the simple scent of touchable skin.” I can vouch for that description as it’s fresh, simple, and flowery. It makes me happy when I put it on in the mornings.

Benefit’s Box o’ Blushes also brought watt’s up!, a wonderful highlighter and the biggest surprise of the month for me. I’ve mostly been using it on my inner eyes and on my cupid’s bow. It totally changes my face, when I add a little bit of glow and brightness I feel more awake and ready for my day. I will definitely be buying the full size of this product. I can’t stress how great it is!

Finally, the biggest educational, non-consumer product of my month was Elaine Tyler May’s Homeward Bound: American Families in the Cold War Era. Elaine Tyler May is one of the most important Gender Studies historians. In this book (which is so profound it’s been revised multiple times since 1988), May argues that the push to get married and have children in the suburbs during the 1950s was not necessarily a people trying to find peace after a costly world war. Instead, the nuclear family and the suburbs became symbols which differentiated “the American way” from the “communist, Soviet way.” Using surveys from married couples, May intertwines other critical propaganda– especially that of the government’s doing– to explain how the meaning of “family” changed from the 1920s to the 1960s. I think this book is incredible considering that the traditional/nuclear family is a myth that still circulates often in our culture. It kind of made me do a double-take to realize that maybe the reason why nuclear families are an ideal we’re all trying to aspire to is because certain institutions tell us it’s important.

Have a fantastic month, everyone!

2 comments
    • Vanessa said:

      Seriously, I need to check out their other stuff!

      Like

Leave a Reply

