What to Watch? #4

Here’s three more movies you should check out!

whattowatch4

1. Let the Right One In, Tomas Alfredson

This is one of my favorite films ever. Let the Right One In is a Swedish romantic horror film (according to Wikipedia) and if that doesn’t sound intriguing…I just don’t know what does. This film is the perfect vampire film without being a “vampire film” (as in this is not lame at all). It is beautiful and captivating and terrifying and a million other things. This is one of my top five films ever, too, and I always think that’s enough convincing on my part.

2. Pacific Rim, Guillermo del Toro

I know a lot of people have seen this but I’m talking about this film just in case some highbrow film people are reading this. I will admit, I, too, thought I would have hated this when I first saw the trailer. I saw this with my friend Daniel, who really wanted to see Pacific Rim but who enjoyed the remake of 47 Ronin, so I was very hesitant about his taste in movies. Nonetheless, I spent the entire movie turning to him and scream-whispering “THIS IS AMAZING.” By the time the credits were rolling, my jaw was to the floor. Pacific Rim is one of my favorite films to come out in the last few years. It is so freakin’ exciting and has some great actors and there is just so much I love. It is FUN. And, I will admit, I have a terrible weakness for Charlie Day in glasses. Wow.

3. Russian Ark, Alexander Sokurov

If you are ready to have your mind blown (sorry for saying “mind blown”), watch Russian Ark. I’m not sure what else I can add that that trailer doesn’t say better. This film is ONE SINGLE SHOT. ONE. CONTINUOUS. SINGLE. SHOT. I just…this is amazing. The story and history and everything is incredible, too, but even if it wasn’t, this is something you must see if not just for the technicalities.

Leave a Reply

