The Goods (12/10/14)

Books

I was introduced to author Linda Tirado while listening to the Topical Currents segment on NPR. Her book, Hand to Mouth: Living in Bootstrap America, details the brutal realities of poverty in this country. Tirado articulates not only what it’s like to be working poor in America but what poverty is truly like on all levels. I’m about three-quarters of the way done with the read and find it pretty intriguing. Tirado’s tone can be a lecture-y at times but the author makes some compelling  points regarding health care and inhumanity in the service industry. If unemployment and poverty in the United States are topics of interest to you, go see what Tirado has to say. I bought Hand to Mouth for Kindle on Amazon. -Fatima

I just finished reading The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon and I loved it. Reading it felt a bit like watching something by David Lynch, I’m not quite sure why. Anyway, I definitely recommend it – it’s an extremely quick read but something you may have to spend some time dissecting. -Amanda

Food + Drink

At our apartment we’re usually pretty low-key and easy meals are the way to go. But we pin a lot of awesome recipes and never take advantage of them! Amanda recently pinned a cream cheese rangoon recipe that we tried out this week. It was actually really fun to make with all of my roommates–we each did a different task and worked together. And the end result was totally delicious. To be honest,  I wasn’t even that hungry, and I had way too many! –Vanessa

I made mulled wine this week and now I know what the hype is about. This is just me telling you that you should make some, too. -Amanda

Music

Hozier’s self-titled debut album is my favorite thing this week. I probably listened to the album like six times last night while I was finishing my final project. My favorite songs are Work Song and Jackie and Wilson. You can listen to the entire album and not feel the need to skip any songs–they are all beautifully written, the music is fantastic, and Hozier’s voice is soothing. –Vanessa

Lifestyle

BuzzFeed’s Lazy Girl Hairstyles have been saving my life lately. I did number 2 for Thanksgiving and number 15 when I went out last Friday. –Vanessa

These glasses…are to die for. I think they were crafted from my dreams. –Amanda

Leave a Reply

