Lil’ Book Reviews #1

I’ve been reading a ton lately and honestly can’t seem to keep up with writing a whole post about each book! So I thought I’d start my “mini reviews”/basically just let you know if I’d recommend them!

 Post Office – Charles Bukowski

My first Bukowski read! Obviously I went into this with high  standards after hearing endless praises for the man. I  wasn’t blown away by the book but I definitely liked it a lot.  Because I’m trying to keep these short, I’m going to try to create  the shortest synopsis ever: this is the story of a man who works at  the post office. He is hilariously  insubordinate, bittter and  passive. It is a fairly quick read so I’d definitely recommend it and  I am definitely looking forward to read more Bukowski very soon.

The Beginning of Everything – Robyn Schneider13522285

I read this book because a ton of Internet-y people I follow  recommended it. Unfortunately, I was severely let down. I feel  that maybe I’d like it if I were 14 or 15 but I’m 22 and I just can’t  relate. Even so, I don’t think 14-year-old me would’ve really  related either, but I just would have liked a story like this: “quirky”  girl comes into the life of our off-beat boy next door with a twist.  Not gonna spoil it but things ~are not as they seem~. Anyway, I  wasn’t crazy about it by any means.

 The History of Love – Nicole Krauss

I can’t remember where I heard about this book but it was on my “to  read” list…so I did. It is a twisting story about a group of people  trying to figure things out. I’m not sure what else to say that can  be short but also not give away too much. Anyway, the entire time  I was reading this book, I kept thinking about Extremely Loud  and Incredibly Close and how similar these books are…and to my  surprise, the authors are married! Tangent aside, I really liked this  book. I like books about New York and I like books with a little bit  of mystery. I felt slightly disappointed during certain  “developments,” but overall I really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

