A Kind-Of Review: Black Mirror

(There are no spoilers in this post.)

I decided to watch Black Mirror on a whim two nights ago. Two weeks ago, I had never heard of the show. Now, I was seeing it everywhere…or at least sort of. I was seeing “Watch the critically acclaimed Black Mirror now available on Netflix!” everywhere, but I had never heard anyone I knew talk about it nor had I heard anything about the plot of the show. Based solely on the “sci-fi anthology in the vein as The Twilight Zone” description provided by Netflix, I decided I’d give it a shot…and boy, am I glad I did.

The first episode of season 1 (entitled The National Anthem) took me by complete surprise. As usual, my intention is not to spoil anything so I’ll just provide you with the episode description as provided by Netflix: “Prime Minister Michael Callow faces a shocking dilemma when Princess Susannah, a much-loved member of the Royal Family, is kidnapped.”

After watching the episode, I was immediately hooked. Unfortunately, the story of Michael Callow and Princess Susannah’s kidnapping ends in episode 1. While I was hoping we’d learn more about what happened, I was extremely surprised to find that episode 2 (Fifteen Million Merits) has absolutely nothing to do with the story in episode 1 (hence “anthology”). In fact, the only similarity between the two episodes turns out to be the overarching theme of the show: the power and darkness of technology.

The show itself is a compelling satire. I found myself immediately engulfed into each episode, even though I was constantly being introduced to new characters. Each episode is a mini-movie – beautifully shot and carefully thought out. Black Mirror is a critique of the way that we’ve allowed technology to become our life and the dangerous path we are taking in regards to this unfortunate truth.

I highly recommend the show if you’re a fan of science-fiction dramas or even just drama dramas. Black Mirror is certainly on a path towards greatness (it already won the “Best TV/Mini Series” award at the 2012 International Emmys) and you don’t want to be the only person who hasn’t seen what everyone will surely be talking about.

As stated, Season 1 and 2 are now available on Netflix. A third season has been confirmed.

Black Mirror Christmas special starring Jon Hamm, Oona Chaplin & Rafe Spall will premiere tonight (December 16 2014) on the UK’s Channel 4.

3 comments
  1. yasfer92 said:

    I especially loved the 15 million credits episode. Its very relevant when you take into account current affairs.

    Like

    • Amanda said:

      @yasfer92 definitely agree! It was a phenomenal episode, wish we could see more of that “universe”

      Like

  2. entropy90 said:

    Hi Amanda! Good post, great blog.

    I’m doing a poll about what people think of the last Black Mirror episode, I would be very glad if you would help me out and spend a few seconds and the time of a click! 🙂 http://bit.ly/1reTaHC

    Like

Leave a Reply

