What to Watch? #5

whattowatch5

Porco Rosso (1992): One of my favorites from Miyazaki. The most adult of all of the Studio Ghibli films (at least in my opinion), and one of the most interesting. I mean, Porco Rosso is a bounty hunting pig. And, as rumor has it, a sequel of sorts is in the works. I’ve found that a lot of people who love Miyazaki have yet to see this one so if that applies to you, check it out.

Frances Ha (2014): I love Frances Ha. It is one of my top films of 2014. I mean, there’s little not to like. In many ways, it is similar to other Noah Baumbach films. He’s a man of a particular style. Almost everyone I know who has watched this film has told me that they see some of themselves in Frances herself and I think that’s pretty cool. It’s solid, it’s enjoyable and it’s on Netflix.

Catfish (2010): The beginning of it all. I remember initially watching Catfish the night before I went to New York for the first time in 2011. I had a lot to take in in a new city, but I spent a lot of the time talking nonstop about this movie. Since then, I’ve convinced tons of my friends to watch it and I’ve even convinced MTV to make a show about it (jk about that). I’m a sucker for Nev though and he’s his great ol’ self in the original movie, dealing with his own personal catfish situation. If you haven’t seen it, especially if you love the tv show, check this one out, too.

Leave a Reply

