My Skincare Problems + Finding a New Routine

The past six months have not been exemplary when it comes to my skin. Last summer, my skin started to turn on me. I started noticing my skin was extra oily, especially on my nose and in my T-Zone. My skin also started to get pimple-y and red often. So, I decided it was most likely my hormones changing and the fact that I’d been following a harsh skincare regimen for years.

I went on a six-month quest for a new skincare routine–and was surprised by a dermatologist appointment, too.

Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 8.36.13 AMScreen Shot 2014-12-28 at 8.36.53 AMI went from a rough skin care routine that included a face wash with exfoliating beads to a more gentle routine. I started using Neutrogena Naturals products, including their cleanser and their moisturizer. Later on I tried their make-up remover/cleanser as well. The products claim to be better than other stuff in the market: the cleanser is made with “natural salicylic acid from Willowbark bionutrients” and the moisturizer has “Vitamins B, C, E and antioxidant omega bionutrients.” Overall, they had less chemicals and were more environmentally-friendly.

For a long time, I thought these were doing the trick. I patted myself on the back–I found better products and subsequently my skin was getting better. However, while I realized that weeks would go by and my nose would be fine, I would notice that other weeks the pimples and redness would come back. So I thought maybe the fact that these products are not organic or 100% natural means that they still have aspects to them that can harm your skin.

Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 8.44.24 AMScreen Shot 2014-12-28 at 8.49.25 AMSo I changed my skin care routine once again. I started using Acure’s Fragrance-Free Sensitive Facial Cleanser with Argan Oil and Probiotic (for acne) and Now Food’s grape seed oil as a moisturizer. After time, I thought these two products were working as well. One thing I can attest to this skin care regimen though (unlike Neutrogena Naturals’) is that it has helped balanced my oily nose and I barely need blotting papers anymore. 

 

But, sadly, it didn’t solve my problems.

Finally, I decided to go to the dermatologist. And their response left me baffled!

The doctor told me it was most likely shingles–the pimples were never really pimples, they were more water-filled than pus-filled. Moreover, the outbreaks were only happening on the left side and tip of my nose, never on the right side.

Really, what was even more disconcerting was how the doctor said I got it: stress. Shingles is a virus that affects the nerve cells in your body. It cannot be transmitted–so I gave it to myself. Shingles is also like adult chicken pox, as it is the reactivation of the dormant chicken pox I had as a child (and which I will carry with me until I die).

I finally have answers to my skin problems (medication at the sight of a flare-up and more stress-control on my part). While these problems were not necessarily related to my skincare routine, it nevertheless helped me try new, safer, more natural products for my face and I am at least happy about that.

Have you used any of the products I listed? What do you use for skincare daily? This is one of my new favorite topics so leave it in the comments if you can!

3 comments
  1. I was thinking about trying that specific brand of grapeseed oil, did you like it? Btw, glad you got some answers at the doctor! 🙂

    Like

    • Vanessa said:

      Yup I have no complaints so far! It’s on Amazon Prime too! What type do you usually use?

      Like

Leave a Reply

