Top 14 Products of 2014

About a year ago, I told myself I would stop buying new makeup and skincare etc etc because I just have too much. I did a terrible job of keeping this promise and spent 2014 discovering a ton of new things and falling back in love with the old.

The following, in no particular order, are my favorites of 2014:

Elizabeth & James Nirvana White

I actually only own this scent in rollerball form…but I have three of the rollerballs. Oops. It’s great though. It is the perfect combination of my two favorites: musk and floral. As soon as I start running low, I’m definitely going to be picking up the full sized bottle of this stuff.

Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion + Broad Spectrum SPF 50

Not much to say about this stuff but I use it every single day and don’t waste a moment thinking about getting sunburn. I know I’m using a good product that will certainly protect my skin and not break me out. I actually bought my bottle at Marshall’s, too, so if you’re interested check that out to get it a bit cheaper!

Rimmel London Hide the Blemish Concealer

I love this concealer. I also love fancy concealers that cost $30 but I mostly love this one…and sometimes I only pay $3 for it, depending on where you get it. And, I mean, for $3 isn’t it worth a try? It’s a great concealer if you’re trying to save some money but also just a great concealer in general. I couldn’t be without it.

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation

I know I’ve mentioned this foundation before but it’s definitely my favorite find of the year. It costs about $10 but works as well as many of my $40 foundations. I’m on my second bottle now and see myself continuing to buy this time and time again. My favorite part about it is that I don’t feel guilty wearing it if I’m just going to work or class (like I do with my more expensive products).

Suave Professionals Beautiful Clean Dry Shampoo

Just like the Rimmel concealer, I mostly love this stuff because it gets the job done and it incredibly inexpensive. I don’t think I’ve ever even paid $3 for this. I never skip more than one day without washing my hair so I don’t know if this would work really well on dirtier hair but for me, it is perfect and has helped keep my hair from needing to be washed every single day – effectively helping my hair to recover from years and years of damage.

GHD Classic Professional 1″ Styler in Jade

Besides the fact that this straightener is adorable looking, it has done wonders for my hair. I had my old hair straightener for about 10 years so I decided it was worth the investment to buy a good quality hair straightener that wouldn’t fry my hair. Between washing my hair less and using this, my hair looks infinitely better and I couldn’t be happier about it.

Bumble & Bumble Thickening Dryspun Finish

Since falling in love with the way my straightener makes my hair look, I’ve been straightening a lot more often. Unfortunately, I don’t necessarily like when my hair looks flat. Just a spritz of this solves all of my problems. I must’ve kept this in my bag even more often than I carried dry shampoo…that’s huge for me. I love this stuff, even though I wish I had a cheaper alternative!

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner

Although I’ve heard this is great for winged liner, I am so bad at liquid eyeliner and usually just want to make the tiiiiniest little straight line. With other liners, I had trouble controlling the pen and usually ended up making the line incredibly thick so they’d look the same. Not with this one! I don’t think I could ever go back now.

Lancome Cils Booster XL Super-Enhancing Mascara Base

I have pretty-good-ish eyelashes even without a mascara primer but this stuff takes it to a whole ‘notha level. It’s my go-to when I’m going out to dinner or somewhere special and I want a little something extra to make a (greatly understated) world of difference.

 Lorac Pro Palette

Something else I’ve mentioned in the past. I have far too many eyeshadow palettes for one person but this one always takes the cake. I turn to it every single day and take it with me every single time I travel. It has everything you could ever need! My favorite colors are Mauve and Taupe.

Anastasia Tinted Brow Gel

I’ve said this before, but this is my #1 go-to/out-the-door product. If I must have anything on my face, it’s moisturizer, spf & something on my eyebrows. Like I mentioned about my eyelashes, my eyebrows also are not at all sparse, but I, like many others, feel almost naked without filling them in. Although I prefer a good ol’ real fill in with some brow powder or the Brow Wiz, this stuff was my savior when I was running out the door for class.

Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Glace

This year I became someone I am not. I have always been a bold lip girl and stayed so, so, so far away from anything lighter than a bright red. One day I woke up and realized I wanted in on that pinky-brown trend and scooped up this guy. It’s great and it is definitely my top lip choice if I have some crazy smokey eyes on.

Bite Beauty BB for Lips

I bought this in Dolce a few months ago and have already used about half of it. I’m obsessed. I love it because it has good color payoff but I don’t need a mirror to put it on. I recently bought Tawny, too, and I just love them both so much. I don’t know where I was or what I was wearing on my lips before these came into my life.

Dior Creme Abricot Fortifying Cream for Nails

I paint my nails a lot, especially if I’m working a lot and I’m coming home each day with chipped nails. It isn’t the healthiest practice for my constantly-damaged nails so I decided to invest in this and my nails are very thankful. Now, they almost never break and they’re definitely far less brittle. Even though my nail polish is still chipping, my nails themselves look good and I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

