Lil’ Book Reviews #2

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Despite the fact that I’ve heard that the author of this book is (to put it lightly) a rather unlikeable person (1, 2) the book itself is actually quite good. I read it a few years ago after hearing loads about it from a ton of my friends. Although its mostly the story of a bunch of kids doing amazing things, it isn’t told in a way that is condescending or childlike, which I loved. If you can find someone who already owns this book (so you don’t have to give more money to the author), I’d definitely recommend borrowing it.

 

Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

The first book I ever read by Kurt Vonnegut was Slaughterhouse-Five and obviously I loved it. On the hunt for more, Cat’s Cradle was next on my list. I loved this book. Not as much as Slaughterhouse, but it’s pretty darn close. Even though the book is about average-sized for me (300-ish pages), it felt like a really quick read because I just couldn’t put it down. It is incredibly interesting and detailed in a way that makes you wonder how anyone could think of all of this stuff. And of course, in classic Vonnegut style, the book blends science-fiction aspects with satire. And, duh, it’s very funny.

 

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

I read In Cold Blood a few years ago and I still think about it all the time. This book is amazing and will have you instantly hooked. I mean, obviously it’s something of a classic and has inspired tons of true crime novels since its publication. In fact, In Cold Blood is definitely something I’d recommend to people who loved Serial because the book was actually originally published as a four-part serial in The New Yorker. In true “Lil’ Book Review” fashion, I won’t give anything away except that it is the story of the murders of the Clutter family in Holcomb, Kansas. You’ll love it, promise. 

Leave a Reply

