I Know I’m Late But… Friends Season 1

Believe it or not, I had never seen an episode of Friends before I started watching it last week. Never. I don’t even really know how it ends (I think I’m fairly certain I know who ends up together…although I could be imagining that I’m more in the loop than I actually am). I don’t know how I’ve made it through my 22 years like this.

When I found out a few months ago that Netflix would be adding Friends to its site, I was ecstatic. Is it excessive to admit that Friends being available for streaming was one of the things I was most looking forward to in 2015? ‘Cause it is definitely the truth.

Anyway! Season 1…

The first few episodes were cute. I liked them but didn’t love them. I liked Monica and Joey immediately but the others took some time for me to warm up to. Phoebe quickly became a favorite and I also began to like Rachel and Ross was even cool, too, but Chandler…I did not like that guy. His constant sarcasm kind of put me off at first.

I made my way through the season, slowly growing more and more attached with each episode…up until I reached episode 17. Episode 17 was the episode I knew that this show had found its own space in my heart.

Episode 17 (The One With Two Parts: Part 2) made me fall in love with everyone. Joey choosing his friendship with Phoebe over dating her twin sister! Ross and Marcel in the hospital room! George Clooney’s existence! I even decided I love Chandler and I even find his sarcasm very endearing.

Marcel in the hospital aka the moment my heart filled with undying love

From this point on, I cried at some point during almost every episode. From Ross becoming a Dad to Monica coming out of her shell a bit after her identity was stolen to Rachel standing up to Barry, I’m just so happy when each of the characters are happy. I’m officially at this point in the show where I know what I want for each character and I will be so very upset if it doesn’t happen. Luckily, what I want isn’t for anything specific, I just want to watch these guys grow as friends and as people. I’m sure I’ll get my wish…I mean, the show is called Friends. 

Where have I been for the past few years? What I was watching that mattered more than this? I may be late to the party but I’m sure glad I finally showed up.

I’ll be back with my take on season 2 soon (probably in a few days at this rate…yikes). If you’ve just started watching Friends since its been added to Netflix, let me know if you’re also loving it.

(P.S. I couldn’t resist adding this picture of Joey Tribbiani because, well guys, I have to tell ya, this is love. Joey is a dreamboat. I don’t know what “dreamboat” means but it feels very accurate right now. Look at this face! Look! I don’t know, it might just be the quintessentially 90’s hair. I’ll also keep you updated on my Joey-love post-season 2.)

Leave a Reply

