Our Reaction to the 2015 Golden Globe Awards

Someway, somehow Amanda and I always end up sitting through too many three-hour-long award shows every year. Most of the time we end up annoyed that our favorites don’t win, but the Golden Globes always prove to be fun and less serious than other award shows. Plus, with Amy Poehler and Tina Fey hosting for the third year in a row, we have been truly blessed. I thought it’d be fun to recap some of my favorite speeches and moments from this year’s show.

I really enjoyed a lot of the speeches. My favorite speech of the night came from Gina Rodriguez, the star of The CW’s Jane The Virgin. If you’re unaware of this little gem of a show (and actress), I’ve got you covered. I loved Gina’s speech because it’s just fantastic when the people you enjoy watching are not only great at their craft, but are also down-to-earth, relatable human beings. Gina Rodriguez’s speech had me in tears, especially thanks to her final lines.

Other great speeches included Maggie Gyllenhaal’s, who won for The Honorable Woman. She highlighted the wealth of roles for women lately; she said, “I look around the room at the women who are here and I think about the performances that I’ve watched this year. What I see actually are women who are sometimes powerful and sometimes not, sometimes sexy, sometimes not, sometimes honorable, sometimes not, and what I think is new is the wealth of roles for actual women in television and in film.”

Maggie Gyllenhaal accepts the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Miniseries or TV Movie.

While Ava DuVernay’s Selma did not win the big awards, I really enjoyed Common and Legend’s speech for Best Original Song. Common said, “I am the unarmed black kid who maybe needed a hand but was instead given a bullet. I am the two fallen police officers killed in the line of duty. Selma has awakened my humanity.” This is definitely a movie I want to see.

Common and John Legend accept their Golden Globe for Best Original Song.

On the subject of Things I Want To See, I was really amazed by all the love Amazon’s Transparent got. When accepting for Best TV Comedy or Musical, Transparent‘s creator, Jill Soloway, dedicated the award to Leelah Alcorn and to the too many trans people who die too young. She said that this show might help “teach the world something about authenticity and truth and love.” It definitely perked both my ears and Amanda’s ears–so we’ll get to watching this one soon.

Jill Soloway accepts the Golden Globe for Best TV Series– Comedy or Musical for Transparent.

I was happy that while some of my favorites didn’t win (Julianna Margulies of The Good Wife), others in the category I loved still won (Ruth Wilson of The Affair). I was also pretty happy with all the love Fargo got, including Best Miniseries or TV Movie and Billy Bob Thornton’s win for Best Actor in a Miniseries or TV Movie.

Some things about the show were a little bit weird, including the nonstop, weird North Korea joke, but overall this year’s Golden Globes were a great start to the real awards season.

What was your favorite moment of the night?

Leave a Reply

