An Attempt at the Flat White

DSC03520

I’ve been hearing about this mysterious flat white excitement over the past few weeks. While they are new to Starbucks in the states, Flat Whites are already extremely popular around the world and among coffee experts. I have yet to try my own professionally-made (or at least Starbucks-made) Flat White but thought I’d give it a shot to see what I was in for. Mine…definitely…does not taste amazing, but I’m sure it would be better if I had the correct tools, plus, it was fun to try out.

Here’s what you’ll need:

– 1 shot of espresso
– about a cup of milk (I used coconut, I’m sure its probably better with actual dairy milk)

That’s it! We used a French Press to froth our milk (but ended up transferring it to a pot and whisking it because the French Press was proving rather difficult) and an espresso pot to make the espresso.

DSC03509

It is fairly simple – just combine your espresso shot and frothed milk.

DSC03513

The key, however, is folding the frothed bubbles into themselves to ensure that you are creating tons of micro-bubbles! I’m not an expert at this at all so I’m not even sure if I’m using these terms correctly…just followin’ what I was told. I think this is where I went wrong myself. I whisked and whisked and whisked but my milk would not reach the frothiness I desired. I’m going to invest in a milk frother and try again soon.

DSC03514

We heated the milk and then pumped the french press in an attempt to froth it. It wasn’t working so well so we moved everything to a pot and used a whisk. I’m wondering if I did it wrong or if coconut milk just doesn’t whisk as well as dairy milk….doesn’t matter, I guess.

DSC03516

DSC03518

After “frothing” the milk, we combined our espresso and froth. You should have about 1/4 inch of the milk (or so I’ve been told).

DSC03519

And that’s it! To be honest, we ended up adding some sugar to the coffee. Maybe we’re wimps but it definitely needed it. I’m looking forward to trying a real Flat White soon to peg my mistake and try again, but, like I said, this was fun. It was a fun step in expanding my coffee-horizons.

Let me know if you know where I went wrong…haha. Or better yet, let me know if you try this out yourself and actually succeed! Good luck!

2 comments
  1. Remember how Vanessa would say that her family used the french press that she has to froth milk? Well I think there are actually different types of presses (ones to do coffee and ones to froth milk)! I saw when I was looking on the Bodum website: http://bodum.bodum.com/us/en-us/shop/prodlist/268/. So I might totally get one of those next because I love the flat white! The ones you did turned out great and I love the new french press!

    Like

    • Amanda said:

      Oh that makes so much sense! It probably makes things so much easier if you have something specifically for that! Let me know if you make the flat white yourself cause ours definitely need some improvements :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

