Movies of 2014: Birdman, Guardians of the Galaxy & Inherent Vice

If you haven’t seen my first post about the movies of 2014, check it out here!

Birdman
Oh boy, Birdman. I went into this movie with virtually no outside information. I knew it was about a “washed-up” former superhero movie star but that’s it. Within 10 minutes, I knew I was gonna love Birdman. My favorite film “genre” is the Avant-Garde so I freak out when any film today does anything even slightly experimental…and I felt that this one was in many ways. I mean, that camerawork? Wow. Almost the entire film is shot in one (very long) shot. I’m a sucker for that sort of thing (see: me gushing over Russian Ark). I mean, even if the movie sucked, but still had that camerawork? I’m not gonna lie, I’d have still loved it. Luckily though, it didn’t suck – not even a little bit. The acting was phenomenal. Everyone was great but Michael Keaton definitely took the cake. Without a doubt, one of his best performances of all time. I don’t have one bad thing to say about Birdman, it was everything I could want in a film and I’ll be shocked if any of the other films from the past year could impress me more.

Guardians of the Galaxy
This movie was, without a doubt, the movie of the (late) summer. I, however, didn’t see it until October (of course). Didn’t matter though, cause Guardians of the Galaxy had the same impact on me that it had on the rest of the world: I loved it. It was goofy and funny! And had tough but lovable characters! And it had Lee Pace! That’s literally everything I wish for every superhero-ish movie (although I am equally happy when Tom Hiddleston is involved). It is, without a doubt, my favorite of all of the new wave of comic-inspired films. My favorite aspects were the Christ Pratt energy and the “nobody expects us to be heroes but, by GOD, we are!” It was a super cute movie, would definitely recommend.

Inherent Vice
I actually read Inherent Vice (the book) last week, so I was kind of at an advantage for this film. The biggest complaint I’ve heard about this film is that it is kind of hard to follow. I actually didn’t find it hard to follow (at least not if you were comparing it to the book) but I think I definitely would have been if I had not finished the book a few days ago. There are a lot of characters and a lot of weirdness happens – it’s a dense story! Anyway, I definitely enjoyed Inherent Vice. Paul Thomas Anderson is always A+ and Joaquin Phoenix is always A+ so its kind of hard to go wrong. But, then again, I could definitely see why so many people are feeling lukewarm about it. The story, in itself, is all over the place so I would really only recommend this to people who may not be watching a film with the absolute necessity of being able to piece together and follow the plot.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

