Amanda’s January Favorites

monthlyfavoritesamandajanfavs15Ah, favorites time again! I say this every single month but this time, it’s for really, really real: these things are all great.

Drybar Buttercup Blow Dryer: Oh boy, oh boy. I don’t know if you’ve seen Brooke’s post about this blow dryer, but I have the exact same feelings about it. My parents actually got me the kit from QVC (their favorite thing) for Christmas…and, I’ll be honest, I was a bit hesitant. I mean, almost $200 for a HAIR DRYER?! Although, just last year, I did finally cave and invested in a GHD straightener and my hair was more than thankful for it, so I knew that sometimes $$$ was synonymous with better quality…so it was worth a shot. And, I swear, this blow dryer is now my holy grail. My hair is completely not mine (and by that I mean it looks healthy and not fried) and I’m so happy for it. I know its a hefty price tag but trust me on this one, it is so worth it.

Baublebar Juniper Ear Jackets: Sparkly-ish earrings are inherently not for me. I’m just not a fan. Also, dangle-y earrings are also not me…so how did I end up falling in love with these? I asked for them for Christmas and haven’t looked back since. They’re basically compliment magnets because they’re pretty unlike most earrings. They actually come in 3 pieces rather than two, making them definitely unlike anything I’ve ever worn. Nonetheless, they’re a great change from my normal “me”/boring earrings and I wear them every chance I get.

Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Volupte Shine in 4 Rouge in Danger: I’ve always dreamed of owning one of these beauts. I finally caved(/justified) when Sephora sent me my “$20 off $50” end of the year gift. I love a red lip, especially one I can swipe on and not worry about. However, a nice fairly-opaque, easy-to-swipe-on lipstick is hard to find…but I’ve found it. This is my go-to on-the-go lipstick these days. The only downside is the price…but, I mean, treat yo self, right?

Starbucks French Press (Similar here): A month ago, I was terrified of french presses. I watched my roommates in awe as they made great tasting, not-watered-down coffee each and every morning. Eventually, I finally faced my fears and gave it another go…and didn’t fail miserably! My mom gave me a French Press she’s had for a few years that never gets used so now I’ve got this big ol’ 8 cup French Press to get me through my days. My #1 favorite thing is making cold press coffee the night before and having it ready for me when I wake up…makes getting out of bed so much easier.

Cobb Salad: I’m having a moment and Vanessa likes to make fun of me for it. Cobb Salads are my jam lately and I’m not ashamed. This is my main inspiration but I’ve been venturing out a lot. Sometimes I add beets or olives or chickpeas or just whatever (and almost always opt for balsamic glaze instead of a blue cheese dressing). I’m actually not sure at what point I’ve changed it so much that it is no longer a cobb salad…but that’s not the point. Anyway, its like the most aesthetically pleasing/organized salad ever so bonus points for that.

Manduka Yoga Mat: I first got into doing yoga about a year and a half ago. I was really into it – I did it every single day for a few months. I got this mat from my parents for Christmas 2013 and instantly loved it. It completely changed my yoga game – no more falling over on the hard floor! Unfortunately, I kind of got caught up with other things (and was being lazy) and gave up on yoga shortly after that. Fortunately, that’s all changed and I’ve picked it up again and this mat has held true. I’ve never had another mat so I don’t know how it stacks up against other mats but I’ve read great reviews so I’m fairly certain I’m the proud owner of a great mat.

And that’s that! Let me know what you’ve been loving each month and Happy February!

Leave a Reply

