What to Watch? #6

whattowatch6

Journey of Hope is the story of a family who has to move from Turkey to Switzerland in an attempt at a better life. The film depicts the hardships the family faces from the moment the decision is made to the actual journey to Switzerland. I just watched this film last week and absolutely loved it. I definitely spent the second half of it in tears so prepare yourself for that. Journey of Hope can be found on Netflix.

Caro Diario is one of the first films I had to watch when I took my first film class a few years ago. Since watching (and falling in love with) Caro Diario, I’ve watched pretty much every other film by Nanni Moretti. I’ve recommended other films of his in the past but this is where it all started for me. The film is semi-autobiographical and is filmed throughout beautiful locations in Italy. I think you’d love this (and all of Moretti’s other films) if you enjoy films by Woody Allen.

Her was one of my favorite films of 2013. I love Joaquin Phoenix so it was kind of inevitable. Her is the story of a man who, essentially, unexpectedly falls in love with his artificially intelligent operating system. It is everything I love about romantic-comedies and much of what I love about science-fiction films all rolled into one. If you’re someone who hasn’t seen this yet, you definitely need to check it out.

Leave a Reply

