Amanda’s March Favorites

amandamarchfavs

I never usually think months fly by but this one definitely did. I can’t believe that by the time I’m writing next month’s favorites, I’ll be done with my undergraduate career! Where is time going?!

Favorites are easily my favorite posts to write so let’s get to it!

Stella by Stella McCartney Eau de Parfum – I actually only have the rollerball of this right now because I do not need to buy more before I use up a few bottles (perfume is easily my Achille’s heel) but I know I’ll need to invest in the full-size soon. The smell is very up my street – rose, rose and more rose. But not like…gross ol’ powder-y rose. It is really feminine (a lot more feminine than I actually usually go for) but it also has amber notes which brings in a touch of muskiness. It is just SO good. If you’re anywhere near a Sephora, you need to check it out. I especially love it because I’ve already associated the smell with Hialeah (don’t worry, everyone else thinks I’m weird for saying that, too) and just home in general. I miss home.

Herbivore Botanicals Hydrate Facial Toner – My dream of finally owning a spray toner has been realized! I ordered this off of Birchbox last month and, because I had a bunch of points saved up, I thought why not try something new? It is so refreshing to spray my face with this as soon as I remove my makeup and cleanse my face. And, best of all, I have noticed that my skin feels significantly softer and hydrated all the time! Ahhh, skin miracles!

Dr. Jart Ceramidin Oil Balm – I also bought this during my recent Birchbox haul. These two items have been my only changes to my skincare routine and I have definitely noticed a huge difference. Subtle brag: the other day, I touched my face and thought “oh my god! I need to take my makeup off” …but my makeup was already off. My skin has been feeling and looking so even, hydrated and soft that I literally thought I was still wearing foundation. The combination of my new toner and this oil has been game changing. I’ve long been a fan of Dr. Jart’s Ceramidin line but this addition has truly stolen the show. I’m still coping with dry patches once in a while (they have significantly lessened since I removed argan oil from my routine but now I think they may have something to do with my hormones? I’m not sure) but this oil clears them right up. It is so comforting to know I can put a bit of this on before bed and be able to wake up the next morning feeling pretty good about my bare face.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat – I messed up. I’ve spent so much of my life thinking that this stuff was all hype. I was wrong and, now, I’ll never go back. This top coat is amazing! I’m someone who repaints my nails constantly mostly because I’m always messing them up (usually because I can’t sit still long enough to let them dry) but this top coat has changed all of that. I no longer have to wait forever just to hope my nails are dry. I don’t know if this necessarily keeps my nails from chipping longer but that isn’t really my concern (because, as I said, I repaint them so much that it isn’t an issue) – all I know is that I’m never going back.

Brussels Sprouts – I love brussels sprouts. A lot of people make fun of me for it (mostly my family and mostly because I make the whole house smell like them when I roast them). I’ve actually never tried them not roasted so I literally have no idea what anyone is talking about when they say brussels sprouts are gross. They are just…so good. If I could eat slightly burnt roasted brussels sprouts for every single meal I would…oh, I would. This month, my love has been really, really real. I think I ate them every single day for a full week and then almost every other day after that for the next two weeks. Just give me all of them, please.

Out of Range by Brand New (maybe?) – This is a bit of a weird one. Rumor has it, about a year ago (maybe longer? maybe more like two years? I don’t know) this song surfaced and was assumed to be a previously unreleased track recorded by Jesse and Vinnie of Brand New. There were arguments about all of the details but all I know is that I’ve been loving it recently (especially because I’m feeling more than ever the huge “Brand New needs a few album” void in my heart). I’ve been listening to it on repeat all month and have no plans of listening to just about anything else.

Traditional Medicinals Organic Throat Coat Tea – There were quite a few times this month when I thought I might be coming down with a cold. Through a combination of Vitamin C, lots of water and this tea, I was able to avoid it. This tea has my favorite ingredient any tea could have – licorice. Weirdly, I don’t like licorice but licorice tea has quickly become one of my favorite things. This tea isn’t really as “tasty” as other licorice teas I’ve tried but it is definitely soothing. I definitely don’t want to get sick but I actually can’t wait to try a cup of this out next time I actually have a cold.

And that’s that! What have you been loving this month?

Leave a Reply

