Amanda’s August Favorites

amandaaaugust2015

August was a really crazy month for me – even though all I did was work. Since I do spend so much time on the clock, I’ve started to try more drugstore makeup rather than use my expensive stuff. It just doesn’t seem worth it when I know everything will wear off throughout the day. I first invested in Rimmel’s Fix & Perfect Pro Primer after I started to run out of my tried and true Laura Mercier Hydrating Primer. The Laura Mercier primer is great but it’s also nearly $40. For only a few bucks, I thought there was no harm in trying a less expensive option. I’m still not quite sure if this primer is entirely to thank but while my makeup used to all but disappear after a few hours of running around, I’m happy to report that I still have foundation on, even after a 14 hour shift.

Another inexpensive makeup decision I made this month was trying out Covergirl’s new SuperSizer mascara. Though I have been sort of blessed in the eyelash department, I still love a good mascara. I actually accidentally bought this one in the brown-black shade but it hasn’t been a problem yet – it’s nice to be able to put on a mascara that somehow makes my lashes look a million times better but still kind of natural. A+ in my book!

With all this new fool-proof makeup, I needed a new fool-proof makeup remover. While I (unfortunately) still reach for a makeup wipe on my laziest days, I’m happy to report that I’ve consistently been following up with some of Simple’s Cleansing Micellar Water to make sure that my face is completely makeup free by bed time. This stuff has kept me from waking up to find old eye makeup mysteriously smeared all over my pillows.

When I’m not working (or recovering from working), I’ve been going on lots of adventures around South Florida. It is so weird that I’ve lived down here for more than half of my life yet I still find whole pockets of Miami or other towns I’ve never seen before. For those days when I’m exploring, I like to bring my new favorite bag ever – the Madewell Transport Tote. I am notoriously the real life Mary Poppins type who brings everything and anything along because I am Mom (does anyone need a phone charger?? a KIND bar? some mints?) and this bag allows me to be that person. I also love the bright brown (I am old – I am describing brown as bright) of the leather contrasting with my usually dark outfits.

Because I’ve been working so much, I’ve spent very little time doing much to entertain myself in my down time. I did start watching the Wet Hot American Summer: First Day at Camp series on Netflix and love it so far. Though I’m only a few episodes in, the show is hilarious and definitely necessary viewing if you’ve seen the original movie. More importantly than watching things, though, I’ve been reading. I’m a bit behind on my goal to read 50 books in 2015 – mostly because I spent so dang long reading The Book of Disquiet. I couldn’t tell you why it took me so long, since I really loved it, but it did. Oh well. Really great book though. It was on the top of my “To Read” list for months so I’m glad I finally got that one checked off.

And thaaaat’s it, folks. Obviously, by me posting this at all, this is my attempt at once again reviving my poor ol’ blog. I miss blogging but I just don’t have the time! But I will make the time because this is important to me. So hopefully look forward to seeing more of my musings or whatever. I’m excited.

See y’all soon!

Leave a Reply

